When Life Isn’t Good

There is this common assumption that when you turn your life over to God… everything will be good. Life will somehow be easier and temptations will be easy to resist because you? Well, you’re a warrior for Jesus! Nothing can touch you!

Let’s take a minute right here to chuckle. A real Har de har har.

I’ll admit, when I turned my life over to God, I did think things would be easier. Compared to the life I used to lead, I guess it is. However, if anything, things became more difficult as I tried to conform to a Christian lifestyle whilst still being me.

Bad news can hit you in all directions and sometimes before you’re able to recover from one, you’re hit with another equally troubling circumstance. It’s easy to think, “Well, gee God, what’s up? Where’s the love?”

Sometimes our troubles are from our own doing.

And sometimes life just really seems to suck.

I don’t claim to have all the answers. What I do have is an undying faith that whilst I’m tripping over my feet trying to get to the finish line, I know with every ounce of my being that my Savior is there waiting with His hand to carry me over the finish line.

Without my faith, I couldn’t function. I wouldn’t even begin to appreciate a sense of future relief. I don’t believe only because it brings comfort-I believe because not believing doesn’t occur to me. Faith is strong, even when my heart and mind is weakened by life’s circumstances.

The LORD is nigh unto them that are of a broken heart; and saveth such as be of a contrite spirit. ~Psalm 34:18

Leave a Reply

